FR44 INSURANCE FLORIDA
FR44 Insurance Florida
Higher Florida Auto Insurance Premiums
Your Florida auto insurance premiums may increase by 200% to 300% compared to what you were paying before your Florida DUI conviction. It’s also possible that your car insurance company will cancel your policy or fail to renew your policy when it expires. If this happens, the mere fact that your auto insurance was canceled will also result in increased premiums when you go to buy new car insurance.
For many, such dramatic increases in car insurance premiums make it difficult to maintain car insurance at all. Unfortunately, not having car insurance also carries serious consequences as a lapse in your car insurance coverage in Florida will result in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license.
On February 2, 2008, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (“DHSMV”) introduced the new financial responsibility certification required under Section 316.193, Florida Statutes. The certification is a form called a Florida FR-44 Form and is similar to the SR-22, which was required prior to February 2, 2008. One of the differences between the new FR-44 form and the old SR-22 form is that higher liability limits are now required.
After a DUI conviction in Florida, your license will be suspended by order of the court. In order to reinstate your Florida driver’s license, you will be required to obtain a FR-44 Form which must be maintained for three years. You obtain the FR-44 form from your auto insurance company. As soon as you ask for the FR-44, your auto insurance company will know that your driver’s license has been suspended for a Florida DUI conviction, and your status will be changed to “high risk” causing the increased premiums.
Obtaining the FR-44 Form
The Florida FR-44 Form is a certificate of continuing financial responsibility showing the limits of your automobile liability insurance that must be kept on file with the Florida DHSMV for three years from the ending date of any revocation. The Florida FR-44 form also requires the insurance company to notify the DHSMV if your insurance policy is canceled, terminated, or lapses for any reason.
You must increase your auto insurance policy to comply with Florida FR-44 liability limits, which are 100/300/50. The 100/300/50 limits means that you must have bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of :
- $100,000 per person;
- $300,000 per occurrence; and
- $50,000 property damage liability coverage.
This is 10 times the financial responsibility requirement for drivers without a DUI. This process is the last step in getting back a valid Florida license. Additionally, in order to reinstate your Florida driver’s license, you must pay a reinstatement fee of $150 (for a first suspension), $250 (for a second suspension), or $500 (for a third suspension).